Back to Basics

 

Taking time out of late, I have been reminded of how much I really enjoy the simple things in life.

The feeling of a cold, refreshing mouthful of water to quench a thirst. The sun shinning on my face. Laughing until my sides hurt and my face feels like it’s going to crack. The delicate sound of the birds singing.  The beauty of nature all around. Being able to breathe deeply and freely. A comforting cuddle. A peaceful night’s sleep. The vibrant colour and the delicate scent of the flowers on my table top.

I have found myself admiring these little things automatically and with such simple ease. This is in huge contrast to when I was wholly wrapped up in the constant treadmill of eat, sleep, work, repeat.

And, guess what? Getting back to basics, stream-lining life, stopping and noticing the details has made an impressive difference to how I see the world.

I feel more blessed, more appreciative and far more peaceful than I have done in a very long time. 

This basic practise that I’ve developed is made up of noticing, being conscious and aware of life around me, as well as respecting and being grateful for those things.

A simple Google Scholar search throws up more results on this subject than I could possibly read through. However, just taking a quick look at some of the research, it immediately becomes apparent that there are significant links between gratitude and an individual’s physical and psychological well being. (Check it out for yourself here)

But, in short, counting your blessings can make you happier and healthier, and who doesn’t want a bit more of that in their life?

When was the last time you stopped to genuinely appreciate the simple ‘stuff’ in your daily routine?

Take a moment to notice the warmth and smell of your morning coffee. Really pay attention to the taste of your food at mealtimes. Listen carefully to the sound of your loved ones laughing. Feel the softness of your pillow as you lay your head down at night. Even on the crappiest of days you can find something to be grateful for, it could just be the fact that you’re able to breathe.

Take pleasure in collecting your reasons to be grateful as you go through your days; then list them back to yourself as you drift off to sleep. You’ll soon find that your list grows exponentially as you get into the habit of noticing more. 

Why not try it out and see how much more enjoyment you can get out of each day?

9 thoughts on “Back to Basics

  1. This is such a great reminder! I find myself doing this when I am in a positive mood and need to remember that if I do it when I’m not feeling so well, that it can actually boost my mood! Thanks for posting 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

      1. I’m not sure I have a great answer for that. I just know that some days I can’t and during those times, I try to just sit with whatever negative emotions I am feeling and acknowledge them. There was a time in my life when I needed them to keep me safe, so I try to be thankful for them. The most difficult part is telling them that they are no longer necessary and kicking them out, so to speak. I have to remind myself that my feelings are real and that the most important thing is how I react to them. I can stay in a miserable place or take action to change my thinking. That usually means that I have to force myself to do something that feels really hard or even impossible… like go for a walk, do a household chore, write or do some art… things that will take my mind to a more positive place. I work on mindfulness A LOT! It’s hard work, but necessary ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I completely understand where you’re coming from. It can be really difficult to stop the negative spiral. I find journaling about what ever is coming up for me really useful, it helps me to unpack it, unpick it, then turn it around and rationalise it all. X

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I do it daily, or twice daily when I’m finding things rough. In the morning to check in with myself and get a handle on what I need to do to look after myself for the day and then in the evening as a way to detox from the day and put it all to bed before I go to sleep. X

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

